Saturday, November 11, 2006

Virginia Wine Appreciation Celebration Winners


Richmond Times-Dispatch Nov 1, 2006
Local wine winners

Juanita Swedenburg has been named the Virginia Wine Person of the Year by the Virginia Wine Industry.

Swedenburg is owner of Swedenburg Estate Vineyard, located 1 mile from Middleburg. She was honored for her contributions to the state's wine industry, including her efforts toward the direct shipment of wine.

Other winners announced at Monday's Virginia Wine Appreciation Celebration before 350 people at the Richmond Marriott Hotel were:

Gabriele Rausse: Gordon Murchie Lifetime Achievement Award. Rausse, owner and winemaker at Gabriele Rausse Winery, started Barboursville Vineyards and has been a winemaker in the state for more than 30 years and served as a consultant to numerous wineries.

Christopher Hill: Grower of the Year. Hill is owner of Glendower Vineyard in Covesville and is actively involved in the state's viticulture industry.
The Lafayette Inn: Restaurant of the Year. Lafayette is located in Stanardsville. Its menu includes more than 42 Virginia wines.
Ye Olde Dominion Wine Shoppe: Retailer of the Year. Located in Occoquan, this shop carries more than 200 state wines. Repeat winner.

The Country Vintner: Wine Distributor of the Year. Based in Oilville, it was the first distributor to have a manager dedicated to Virginia wines.
Del. Chris Saxman: Legislator of the Year. Delegate from 20th District pushed legislation that would allow continued self-distribution. -- Jack Berninger